Million Dollar Spaghetti

I made this dish a very only time ago. Pretty sure it was back in September of 2016. Due completely to operator/cook stupidity it turned out to be more like one hundred dollar spaghetti, and that is being generous, instead of million dollar spaghetti. I was super disappointed because Pinterest is loaded with “Million Dollar Spaghetti” pins that look so yummy. Yet I felt like mine was a fail. The good news is that I know what I did wrong and can now guide you to making the perfect dish. Lucky you!

Let’s begin!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground turkey or hamburger
  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • 1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 small onion, diced (I didn’t use)
  • salt
  • ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I omitted)
  • 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

I know what you are thinking after reading that ingredient list. That is a whole bunch of ingredients for a girl who usually won’t pay attention to any recipe with more than 5 ingredients. But if you notice, most of the ingredients are seasonings. Those don’t count as long as it is normal crap people usually have on hand and not some weird stuff that I have to go to somewhere besides Aldi’s or Walmart to get. 

Start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Also, spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray and set aside. I have no clue what spraying the dish before you start cooking does better than spraying it just before you load the contents in the darn thing. I usually don’t spray it until before I use it. Mostly because as I am getting ready to assemble my dish that is when I remember I need a 9×13 and have to dig it out from the back of the cabinet. So you be you. Spray it before and set aside or live on the edge like I do and wait until the moment you need it. 

After you decide to spray or not to spray, prepare the spaghetti noodles per the box’s instructions. Here is a tip that I would do next time but failed to do this time; break the spaghetti noodles at least in half. If not even down to 3rds. I just dumped the entire box in the water and let it do its things. This caused for complications that I will bring up later.

While the spaghetti is getting all spaghetti-fied brown the ground meat until it is no longer pink. If you are adding onions to your dish then this is the time to do that. Also, salt and pepper the meat to taste.

When that beautiful meat beast is done, drain off any excess fat. 

Now, add the entire can of crushed tomatoes, basil, oregano, parsley and red pepper flakes and again season with salt and pepper to taste, if needed.

The meat mixture is done. Let it simmer while you prepare the cream cheese layer.

Now, in a mixing bowl, whisk together cream cheese and sour cream. I doubled what the recipes calls for. I used an entire cup of each. If not even more. It sounds like a weird combination but it is actually pretty tasty and I wanted a lot of it on my noodles.

If you haven’t already, grate the block of mild cheddar cheese and the block of Monterey Jack cheese. I could not find Monterey Jack cheese in the block form at Aldi’s so I bought the pepper jack. This is a change I would definitely keep next time. It gave the dish a bit of a nice kick. I wouldn’t recommend using the red pepper flakes and the pepper jack cheese in the same recipe. That might give you burning diarrhea that would be so fun. But again, you be you.


Now you can assemble the dish.

First, layer the spaghetti in the bottom of the 9×13 dish. Since I did not break my spaghetti this ended up to be a big lump of pasta. None of the top ingredients soaked down into the noodles and I just wasn’t a fan.

Next, add the cream cheese and sour cream mixture to the top of the noodles. Next time I make this I would actually stir the mixture into the noodles. 

Then, add the meat mixture on top of the cream cream cheese/sour cream layer. This I would not mix it. Leave it as its own layer.

Now add the shredded cheese! I used a lot as usual:)

Bake for 20 minutes or until bubbly and heated through.

Look at the layers!😍

I had enough that I was able to freeze what we didn’t finish.

When I took it out of the freeze to use as a meal about a month later it tasted MUCH better than when I had originally made it. I think this is because as it was reheating all of the ingredients were mixed together more thoroughly with the noodles. This is why when I make it again I am going to make a few adjustments to how it is assembled. It has that million dollar potential!

I paired this dish with a side salad and garlic bread.

And that is what we had for dinner!

2 thoughts on “Million Dollar Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

