5-ingredient Enchiladas 

Happy Wednesday! I had planned this meal for “Taco Tuesday”, but since my schedule has been super busy lately, I used yesterday as a day to rest in hopes of avoiding a Lupus/RA flare up. So far so good!

I took a poll on Facebook and asked my friends and family what recipe they wanted for me to blog next. The Million Dollar Spaghetti recipe won! However, after cooking dinner tonight I had to blog this enchilada recipe immediately. 

It is super easy and amazingly good.
Let’s begin!!

Ingredients: 

  • 1 pound ground turkey or hamburger 
  • 1 16oz jar of Black Bean and Corn Salsa. I could only find it under the Newman’s Own label.
  • 1 10oz can of red enchilada sauce
  • 8 medium size flour tortillas 
  • 2 cups Mexican Blend shredded cheese

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

Then spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray and fold 8 flour tortillas. I’m placing a picture below because I have absolutely no idea how to describe what to do in this step. Make it look like the picture below.

Next, brown your ground meat until it is no longer pink. I always use ground turkey in place of beef in 99.9% of the recipes I cook. 

Aldi’s usually has the cheapest price per pound; however, if it is on sale for less somewhere else, I do stock up a few pounds.

While the meat is browning, take this time to grate the cheese if you bought blocks of cheese instead of the already shredded kind. My Aldi’s was out of the shredded Mexian Blend and the Taco Blend, so I decided Extra Sharp Cheddar would work just as well. What is the difference between Mexican Blend and Taco Blend? Is there really a difference between Sharp Cheddar and Extra Sharp Cheddar? I think that is a scam, but I still fall for it. 

Once your meat is done, drain as much of the grease off as you can.

Now, in a mixing bowl, add the meat, 1/4 of a cup of the enchilada sauce, and the entire 16oz jar of Black Bean and Corn salsa. 

Mix together until well combined.

It might look like vomit. It sure doesn’t taste like it! The mix tastes amazing. 

Next, add 1 cup of cheese and mix this in as well.

Now, fill each flour tortilla with the mixture until the mixture is gone. I used about 1/4 of mixture (give or take a bit) in each tortilla.

All you have to do to close the tortillas is to “fold and roll”. Fold in each side and roll the seam under. It was much easier than I thought it was going to be. 

Fold and roll all 8 filled tortillas.

Pour the remaining red enchilada sauce over the top.

I had extra sauce because Aldi’s did not have a 10oz can. They had 8oz pouches. I figure too much is always better than not enough, so I purchased two of the pouches, and then was able to drowned my rolled tortillas in the red sauce. YUM!!

Then, add the remaining cheese.

Since you know me, you know that I always use way more cheese than a recipe called for.  Therefore, I used two 8oz blocks of cheese in the total recipe.

Lastly, a piece of tin foil that is cut large enough to cover the 9×13 dish and spray it with cooking spray. 

Place the tin foil, cooking spray side down, over the completed enchiladas and bake for 40 to 45 minutes.

It will come out of the oven so perfect and heavenly. 

Plate up and enjoy!!

I wanted to service this dish with Spanish rice, but I guess purchasing it at the store would have helped make that “want” a reality. Oy vey!

And that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a Reply

