Crockpot Potatoes and Sausage 

First, I truly apologize for my lack of posts. I have been cooking, taking photos, and planning blogs but when the act of sitting down and putting it together is in front of me I draw a blank on what I want to say. I cannot thank you each enough for being patient and encouraging me through my slumps.

Well, I took a poll and the Crockpot Potatoes and Sausage won so that is the recipe I am yapping about today. You all might regret your vote. This was a recipe that features MANY mistakes. I was even washing blood off of potatoes at one point so if you came to me looking for some cooking guidance or help, God speed.

This is a hearty meal. I made it on a warmer day and really wish there had been a snowstorm outside. It is the perfect dish to fill you up on a cold winter night. So of course me waiting to blog about it to when Spring is right around the corner is pretty usual for my life.

Let’s begin!



Ingredients:

  • 2.5 pounds of Russet Potatoes 
  • 1.5 pounds of smoked sausage 
  • 1 large onion (I omitted this)
  • 1 10oz can of Cream of Mushroom soup
  • 3/4 teaspoon of Creole seasoning

This recipe was super easy to throw together.

Start by spraying your Crockpot insert with a cooking spray or use one of those fancy liners. I have never used the liners so I have no clue if they work but those that have used them give them pretty good reviews. Let’s be honest though, is it really that hard to clean a Crockpot? I once left a Crockpot in my fridge from Christmas to Easter (yes, I just admitted that) and it came clean with no extra scrubbing needed. Save your money on Crockpot liners and buy wine instead.

After you have done whatever it is you want to do to keep your meal from sticking to your Crockpot, clean and peal the potatoes. This is where I must again publicly admit that I am an idiot. When I went grocery shopping I thought I had bought the 5 pound bag of potatoes and was going to use half in order to fulfill the 2.5 pound required amount for this recipe. But I didn’t. I actually bought a 10 pound bag of potatoes but didn’t realize it until my cleaning and pealing process started making me feel like I should have been wearing a striped prison jumpsuit and singing chain gang work songs. My brain did not tell my body that I was cleaning and pealing WAY more than 2.5 pounds of potatoes. When my wrist started to cramp is when it dawned on me that the pile of potatoes that had grown seemed a bit much for 2.5 pounds. I looked at the bag and realized it was a 10 pound bag and I had in fact cleaned and pealed 5 pounds. The good thing is I had extra meat and soup on hand so I ended up doubling the recipe and put the extra in the freezer. Unintentional mom win! 

Once your, hopefully correct amount of potatoes, are clean and pealed you want to cut them up into cubes. Or chunks? I’m not really sure how to describe the size. Just make them the size you want then put the chopped up potatoes in the Crockpot.

Next, slice up the smoked sausage. The original recipe calls for pork. I just grabbed smoked sausage. The recipe also calls for 1.5 pounds. I bought two 14oz packages and used both. The ounce difference isn’t that much to matter. Who would complain about too much smoked sausage, right? And since my potato count was a bit off I figured it all would work out in the end. 

Add the slices smoked sausage to the Crockpot as well!

If you are using onion in your recipe then you want to slice them and add them now. If not, then move on. 

Now, add the can of Cream of Mushroom soup. I used two cans since I increased the first two ingredients. Even if I had used, or you do use, the correct amounts of potatoes and sausage I would still use 2 cans of soup. I will the next time I make it. I like that the extra soup made it more, well, soupy.


Next, add the 3/4 teaspoon of Creole seasoning. I have never in my life tried Creole seasoning. I would remember. I found it in the seasoning aisle of the grocery store right along side all the other seasonings like salt and pepper. But this beast is no salt or pepper. It is Satan’s soul ground up in a shaker. Since I had no clue what Creole seasoning tasted like I decided to try it before adding it to the other ingredients. That was the only thing I did right throughout this cooking process. I put a small amount on the tip of my finger and tried it. My first thought was that it tasted just like seasoning salt and I was miffed that I had been duped into paying a ridiculous amount of money just because it was called something fancy. But this annoyance quickly changed to drooling panic. The heat kicked me and kicked me hard. Oh gawd did it kick! It felt like the fires of hell had spun a tornado in my mouth. I did not use any more than the recipe originally states. Even with the increase of the other ingredients the Creole seasoning remained at the suggested 3/4 teaspoon amount. Not today Satan. Not today.

After you add the seasoning, stir all the ingredients together thoroughly.

Sorry, I forgot to take the pretty “all bundled up in the crockpot” picture.

Cook on low for 7-8 hours or find a conversion chart online and figure out how long to cook it on high. I think it is 4-5 hours  on high but do not take that advice from me.

The house smelled so good while it is cooking! 

I absolutely loved all the flavors together. The potatoes were perfectly cooked. The seasoning ended up being the right amount for the dish. You could definitely taste the Creole seasoning but it was not overpowering in any way. I will be making this again. 

Normally I would show you a pretty picture of the plated meal but I feel like I should offer a warning first. Viewers discretion is advised…

I fell asleep watching tv, while dinner basked in its Crockpot glory, and it ended up cooking for an hour longer than I had planned for it to cook for a total cook time closer to 9 hours. Oops. During this extra hour the sausage turned a funny grey and black color. It tasted great but it didn’t look very appetizing. Thus the warning.


….and this sad looking, weird, brownish stuff is what we had for dinner! (Honestly, it tasted great!)

Leave a Reply

