Fluff Salad

Now that the holidays are over, due to poor planning on my part, today I am sharing a holiday side dish. It can be made for other occasions so it is not a complete blogging fail on my part. 

Every holiday my family makes Fluff Salad. It has been passed down from the older generations and continues to be taught in many of our kitchens. I taught the offspring how to make this dish and there is something heartwarming about knowing that one day she will serve it to her family. 

Throughout each household of our family there have been many variations on how Fluff Salad is made. Some add fresh or canned fruit chunks which is an awesome addition. I have never added that step. I make it exactly how my mom made it. Some day I might try to alter the recipe but now, even when I just think about altering it, I feel like I am betraying my family. So I’ll continue to make it the way I have been eating it and preparing it for the last 30-something years.

Let’s begin!


Ingredients:

  • 24 ounces of small curd cottage cheese
  • 8 ounce of Cool Whip
  • 2 small boxes or 1 large box of Jello

That’s it.

First, place the cottage cheese into a mixing bowl.


Small curd cottage cheese does work best. I accidentally used large curd one time and biting into the chunks of curds really made me want to vomit. Oh and that lovely pink bowl you see in the picture is one I stole from my mom. It’s a great mixing bowl. I bet she misses it. No, don’t feel bad for her. She’ll steal it back one day when she is over here at my house.

Next, add in the Jello. You can use any flavor you desire and any brand. Do not use pudding mix. 

I have used every jello flavor sold in The United States. Growing up my mom made it with the standard strawberry or orange flavored jello. I have made it with a watermelon flavor, however, it was a bit of a miss. The watermelon flavor was not strong enough against the cottage cheese and cool whip flavors. When the offspring was little, every holiday she asked for the blue raspberry flavor and she got it. Yes, there was a bowl of bright blue fluff on the table for many, many, years. 

I have found that the Jolly Rancher brand does the best at getting the fruity flavor to come through against the cottage cheese and cool whip. But it really isn’t that different from the Jello brand or an off brand. 

Now, mix the cottage cheese and jello together until all of the powder is mixed in.


If you use a red jello mix it will look like the insides of a fresh killed animal. I promise it will not taste like that. 

If you have decided that you want to add fruit of any kind now would be the time to do that. For example, if you are using a strawberry based jello, you could add fresh strawberry chunks. If you are using an orange flavor based jello you could add mandarin oranges. You will need to drain the oranges thoroughly if using the canned form. Or if you are using a pineapple flavor based jello you could add pineapple chunks. Again, drain off the juices and syrup. Just a heads up; If the fruit you decide to use is a watery fruit, such as oranges and pineapple, it could make your Fluff Salad a little runny. 

The last step is to fold in the cool whip.


I have used the Cool Whip brand and off brands and don’t notice a difference in flavor or consistency. Any brand of whipped topping will do. I do not recommend using a fat free or reduced fat whipped topping. 

I forgot to take a picture of the finished product on a plate. It does not look much different than it does in the bowl. 

Fluff Salad is a very quick, inexpensive, yummy, side dish to add to a holiday meal, take to a picnic or share at a potluck.


…and that is what we had with our Christmas dinner!

2 thoughts on “Fluff Salad

  1. Our family always had a similar fluff salad around the holidays… pistachio salad, or orange sunshine salad,, and some kind of cranberry salad. I’m going to have to dig up those recipes and retry them.
    I haven’t been cooking much lately, feeling like I’m out of ideas. Your blog helps me get back in the kitchen and get cookin’! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

