Unsloppy Joes

I haven’t cooked in a while. With Christmas last week I have been stretching out the leftovers, grabbing fast food, and making the offspring cook something teenager-ish for herself. My exhaustion level has been at maximum high the past two weeks. It has been a combination of the holiday prep madness and an auto immune flare-up that has been keeping me down and out. If you are a normal, healthy, individual the exhaustion would feel like you haven’t slept in a month. For a person with an auto immune disease what exhaustion is to a healthy person is how we feel every day so if we say we feel “exhausted” then know it feels worse than normal. Normal for us. Not normal for you. 
Since I am just getting small bursts of energy here and there, and my to-do list is a mile long, I do not want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. The Unsloppy Joe is perfect if the thought of cooking makes you want to punch someone in the face. It is a fast dinner idea and it is  super creative so you will impress your family with your skills.

Let’s begin!


Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground meat
  • 1 16oz can of biscuits (8 biscuits)
  • Sloppy Joe mix
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder 
  • Shredded cheese (optional)
  • Pickles (optional)

Start by heating your oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit.

Cook the ground meat until it is no longer pink. Once again, I used ground turkey. The Fit & Active is an Aldi’s brand. I usually shop around when it comes to meats. Aldi’s does not always have the cheapest prices on meat. If Jennie-O ground turkey is on sale it usually will be cheaper than Aldi’s price on ground turkey. Just a little frugal tip for ya! All the other ingredients I did purchase at Aldi’s except the sloppy joe mix. When Manwich is on sale I stock up a few cans so I already had this in my pantry. Otherwise, Aldi’s does carry a version and it is under a dollar.

So brown your ground burger!


Once the meat in done, drain off any excess grease.

Add the sloppy joe mix, I used Manwich, and 1 teaspoon chili powder.


Mix thoroughly and let it simmer for 5 minutes.

You could also use your own sloppy joe mix instead of a canned version. I’ve also thought about adding onions and green peppers to the mixture. While the canned mix does have some sort of green peppers or something that resembles that in it, I think this recipe would leap into greatness with fresh ingredients added to it.

The assembly process does take a little more involvement than I normal prefer.

Start by pressing the biscuit dough out to make it larger. Last time I made this I used my fingers, like the recipe said, but I don’t feel it made them big enough. This time I used a floured rolling pin and it worked much better.

Next, add 1/4-1/3 cups of the meat mixture on half of the biscuit.

Now, fold the dough over.


Use a fork to close the edges.


I also added cheese to a few.


And cheese plus pickles to a few.


They should look like mini pies when you are done. 

Yes, mine are messy at this step but they clean up nice.

Bake the unsloppy joes in the oven until the biscuits are a golden brown color. It will take about 10-15 minutes. I cooked this batch a few minutes too long. They ended up more brown than golden. Oops.

I served our unsloppy joes with seasoned fries. 


and that is what we had for dinner!

One thought on “Unsloppy Joes

Leave a Reply

