Creamy Italian Sausage and Pasta

I was so nervous to make this recipe but it sounded too good to pass up. It calls for “hot” sausage and since I am not a spicy food kind of girl I was worried it was going to be a great disaster. Whoa was I wrong. This is definitely a new favorite and a meal that will be added to the usual rotation. The only difference is that next time I will be doubling some of the ingredients in order to make more of the sauce. As is, it was a bit “dry” when it comes to the amount of sauce it has on it. That is not okay with me. I need my life to be soupy, saucy, and gooey.
Let’s begin!


Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces bowtie pasta
  • 1 pound of ground Hot Italian Sausage 
  • 1 14oz can of petite diced tomatoes drained
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 pint (1 cup) heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

Start by preparing the pasta as instructed on the box. 


While your noodles are transforming into something edible, brown the sausage and work on the creamy mixture.


This is not a “hot” as in spicy sausage. It has a great taste. I have never tried it before this dish. I loved it. I may even replace the normal ground sausage in the Sausage & Egg Breakfast Bake with this hot sausage. It has changed my world!

Once the sausage is cook through drain off any excessive fat.

Next, drain the can of tomatoes and add them to the sausage. Also add the oregano, garlic powder and salt to the sausage during this step. Mix thoroughly to make sure all the spices are incorporated throughout the mixture.


Now, stir in the heavy cream. Let this amazing mixture simmer and bring it to a boil. As I stated above, next time I make this I will double the amount of tomatoes and heavy cream that is used.


This mixture is soooo GOOD!!!

Once the mixture is boiling, reduce the heat and let it simmer for a good 10 minutes. It will thicken a bit as it simmers. 

Lastly, add the bow tie pasta and the parmesan cheese to the mixture. The original recipe states to use 8oz of the noodles. The only size box I could find in the store was 16 ounces. How do you measure 8 ounces of noodles. Is that the uncooked or cooked weight? That is way to much drama for my kitchen so I just added about half the box. Can you ever have too many noodles?


I also added way more parmesan cheese than the recipe states. Yum!

Add a salad or veggies on the side and you’ll have a completed meal. 


…and that is what we had for dinner.

One thought on “Creamy Italian Sausage and Pasta

Leave a Reply

