Cheesy Chicken Tator Tot Casserole

My slow cooker is my favorite appliances in my kitchen. I am totally a “set it and forget it” kind of cook. The less time I have to spend in the kitchen the happier I am. Plus, you can make some pretty amazing meals with little to no effort. Who doesn’t love that?!?

I have now made this Cheesy Chicken Tater Tot Casserole twice. It is not in the regular rotation of meals, mostly because I forget how easy it is to make, but it is something my family enjoys.

Let’s begin!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced
  • 1 (32 oz.) bag frozen tater tots
  • 1 (3 oz.) bag bacon pieces
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • salt & pepper, to taste

The only prep needed is that you will need to cut your chicken into bite size pieces and grate your cheese. That’s it.

For the bacon pieces I always buy mine pre-made. DO NOT use bacon bits. You want to buy the real bacon pieces. There is a difference between bacon pieces and bacon bits so pay attention to what you are buying. They are usually located near the salad dressings and croutons in the grocery store. I suppose you could even step this up a notch and use fresh bacon but for me cooking bacon is terrifying and I only do it when I literally have no other choice in life.

Now you can layer your ingredients into your slow cooker.

For the first layer use 1/2 of the bag of tater tots.

For the next layer, use 1/3 of the cheese and 1/3 of the bacon pieces.


It is hard to see the bacon in the photo above but I promise it is in there.

Now, layer your chicken.


Add salt and pepper, to taste, to the top of the chicken as seen above.

Next layer another 1/3 of the cheese and 1/3 of the bacon.

Next, layer the last half of the bag of tater tots.

Lastly, add the remainder of the cheese, last of the bacon pieces, and 3/4 cup of milk to the top


That is it!

Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 4 hours.

I will admit that this recipe is missing “something”. It is a good meal but it definitely leaves you with that “it needs more” feeling. As I was talking with the offspring we both agreed that if you like onions you could add onion to the recipe. However, other than that our brains had no ideas. I have no vision when it comes to altering recipes and would love to see your comments on what you think would make this recipe better or what you use in your version.


…and that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a Reply

