Sour Cream Noodle Bake

We are pasta people. I would say a good 90% of my dishes have pasta in them. I don’t have the slightest clue as to what the different shapes are used for or what dishes they work best in. Does elbow macaroni taste different than the bow tie shape? Does angel hair really taste that much different than thin spaghetti? And what in the heck is the difference between spaghetti noodles and thin spaghetti noodles?? They look the fricken same to me! My education on pasta is so lacking that when I was a child I thought rigatoni pasta was called Rick and Tony. I am not even sort of kidding about that.

This Sour Cream Noodle Bake is a recipe I discovered from The Pioneer Woman. You can find her amazing recipes and so much more at thepioneerwoman.com. She is truly an amazing woman and a great inspiration.

This is a super easy dish that your family will truly think that it took you all day to cook. Don’t tell them that it didn’t. In fact, fall asleep at the dinner table to really drive the point of exhaustion home!

Let’s begin!img_4811-1

 

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 pound Ground Beef/Turkey
  • 15-ounces Tomato Sauce
  • 8oz bag of Egg Noodles
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream
  • 1-1/4 cup Small Curd Cottage Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Sliced Green Onions (optional)
  • 1 cup Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • Salt to taste
  • Black pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. 

Every ingredient I bought for this recipe I was able to purchase at Aldi’s. If I was a good blogger I would tell you how much the total cost is to make this meal. But I am not. Plus, you might not have an Aldi’s store in your area so I won’t depress you by telling you how much I saved.

Start by bring a pot of water to boil so you can cook your egg noodles. Once the water is boiling add the noodles and cook until you think they are done. About 10 minutes. The instructions always say al-dente but does anyone really know what in the world that consistency is? I have heard it explained on TV as “it has a bite to it”. What the hell does that mean? Cook your noodles how you like them. Oh, and see the blue pot I use in the picture below? I stole it from my mom. I need a pot this size and she had two. Now she has one.

Additionally, I could only find a 16oz bag of egg noodles so obviously I only used half in my recipe. However, I actually cooked the entire bag when I was making the noodle bake. My offspring likes to eat noodles and butter. We put the left over noodles in the fridge and she’ll indulge in noodles and butter for either breakfast or lunch the next day. No, I don’t care that she eats noodles for breakfast.

While your noodles are in their boiling bath, cook your ground meat. I use ground turkey. 

Enter a caption

I actually only used a pound of ground turkey. I do not buy meat from a butcher or the meat counter people in the grocery store, so I always end up adjusting the meat amounts on all my recipes. It works in my home because as I said, we would much rather just eat carbs. We only serve meat on the plate so we feel good about ourselves.

After your meat in cook thoroughly, drain off the excess fat and goop.

I got all creative and did the Pinterest trick where you use the foil to dump your oil into.

It worked! I made a little bit of a mess and wasted a ton of foil but it totally worked!

Also, I do not have one of the grease sucker things. I have no clue what it is called. You know it! The thing you suck the turkey juices up with at Thanksgiving time and then squirt it all over the turkey with so it doesn’t get dry. Right? Anyway, I use to have my mom’s but since it wasn’t in my gadget drawer I am guess she stole it back one of the times she was here visiting. Rude. But have no fear! What I did find was some medicine measuring squirter thing for babies. How the hell did I end up with that? The offspring is 17 years old.

Enter a caption

It worked just as good, if not better, than the big one! I am a cooking MacGyver.

Hopefully your grease removal step goes a little smoother than mine did.

Now add your tomato sauce to the meat. I could not find a 15oz can of tomato sauce at the store so I ended up buying two 8oz cans. What difference does an ounce make? None. Then add salt and black pepper to taste.

I totally forgot to take a picture of this step because the offspring and the dog joined me in the kitchen and I lost track of my brain. Once you add the tomato sauce it sort of looks like sloppy joes. This step shouldn’t really need a picture.

Now, in a mixing bowl add the cottage cheese and the sour cream together and stir until it is combined well. You also want to add pepper to this mixture. Again, add the amount to taste. This ends up being a very peppery dish. Is “peppery” a word? It is now. If you are not a fan of black pepper then feel to adjust these amounts to your liking or skip it all together. This is however the only real seasoning the recipe calls for.

See, the offspring joined me and helped. It makes me the happiest mama in the world to share the kitchen with her. Even though she is wearing my shorts.

The original recipe calls for green onion; however, I usually omit this ingredient when making this bake. We aren’t onion people. Yet for some odd reason I bought them so we decided since I bought them we might as well add a little.

The offspring did a great job chopping the green onion under the watchful eye of Bentley. I wasn’t lying when I said the offspring and the dog joined me in the kitchen. Ignore the pumpkin mat. Yes, our Halloween decorations are still up.

Next, you want to add your noodles to your sour cream and cottage cheese mixture.

Stir this mixture until it is thoroughly combined.

Then add the green onion if you chose to use them in this dish, and again, stir it really well.

Enter a caption

Now you can build your casserole!

I used a 9×13 baking dish. Last time I made this I used an 8×8 and it was too small. These are the only two sizes I have to choose from. If you are some cooking queen/king and have mulitple sizes of baking dishes then pick the one you feel will works best. Also know I am very jealous of you.

Spray you baking dish with cooking spray.

The first layer of the bake is the heavenly noodle mixture.

The second layer is the meaty tomato sauce mixture.

Enter a caption

And finally add your cheese! I’m not going to give you the lecture about you should grate your own because it is MUCH better than the pre-packaged shredded stuff.

The cheese is always my favorite layer of every dish. You should already know what I am going to add here; the recipe calls for 1 cup of shredded cheese and I, per usual used more. I used an entire 8oz block of sharp cheddar. Go big or go home!

Enter a caption

Pop that notorious noodle bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

img_4829
Oh YUM!!

I served this with dinner rolls. I found these amazing rolls at Walmart that you can put into the microwave to warm. The directions actually say you can put them in the oven, microwave them, or let them thaw at room temperature. They are perfect for just the offspring and I.

I know this recipe seems like it has a lot of steps but it actually comes together pretty quickly. Once you get your rhythm down while making it and you multitaske some of the steps, you can probably have it ready for the oven pretty quickly.

….and that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a Reply

