Sausage & Egg Breakfast Bake

I can’t go one day without social media reminding me how many days I have left until Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the new year. It is a daily reminder that I have not started to even think about shopping and that my mantra that 2016 was going to be “my year” was a huge lie.

With the holidays preparing to leave tread marks on our faces and inches on our hips, many of us turn to recipes looking for the perfect breakfast ideas. We scour cookbooks and Pinterest looking for the promise of prepping a dish the night before allowing us to eliminate having to sweat over a stove on Christmas morning. To sound like a huge clichĂ© I am going to tell you to “look no further!” Save yourself from slaving over a breakfast, that let’s face it no one is going to eat, with this super easy breakfast bake.

I have made this recipe on holiday mornings as well as a few times for dinner. Yes, we are breakfast for dinner kind of people here.

Let’s begin!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground sausage
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 12oz can of biscuits
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 2 cups of Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

Start by browning your sausage until it is no longer pink. I have not experimented with anything other than pork sausage. If you are a sausage expert then feel free to use whatever kind of sausage your heart beats for.

Yes, some of it is still pink in this picture.

Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray.

Add your biscuits to the bottom of your baking dish. I buy the jumbo biscuits and use about 8 of them to cover the bottom of my dish. You could also use your own homemade biscuit dough. That kind of defeats the “easy” claim of this bake but I am not one to stand in between a person and their baked goods. Just make sure you press the biscuits into the dish, sealing any spaces or creases, thus making a solid crust for your casserole.

img_4081
Yes, I know my biscuits did not form a solid crust. Honestly, it isn’t life threatening if it doesn’t.

In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, milk, salt and pepper. Then pour the egg mixture on top of the biscuits.

Next add the cooked sausage into the egg mixture. Try to spread it around as evenly as possible.

Notice how you can see a glimpse of the dog in the bottom right hand corner of this picture. He is always at my feet the entire time I cook. He is the best sous-chef around!

My cooking co-captain eagerly waiting for me to drop food.

If you are an amazing human being and bought block cheese, grate your mozzarella if you have not already done so at this point. If you bought pre-shredded cheese, I won’t judge you. We all need to cut corners and add time to our busy schedules. I understand. I ended up enlisting/forcing the offspring to grate the mozzarella for this dish. I absolutely love working in the kitchen with her.

You could grate the cheese while your sausage is browning, before you start assembling your breakfast bake, but I like to be as disorganized as possible in the kitchen.

The offspring grating cheese!

Add the shredded cheese to the top of the bake. The original recipe calls for 2 cups of mozzarella but it should not shock you anymore for me to tell you that I use more than 2 cups. Add as much mozzarella as you want.

Bake your casserole at 425 for 20 minutes or until the bake is firmly set in the center. The amazing aroma will make you to want to lick the front of the oven. Don’t do that. The oven is hot.

….and done!

I have never assembled this the night before and let it set in the fridge overnight so I am not sure how that would turn out. It is such a quick dish to make that it is not a hassle to make it in the morning.

This is also a recipe that is very easy to double if you have a larger group of hungry humans.

Enjoy!

…and that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a comment