Tortellini Bake

I am really into cooking comfort foods lately. Maybe it is because fall and cool weather have finally became a daily occurrence here in West Michigan. Maybe it is because life has been a little stressful and nothing cures my anxiety and stress better than a hot dinner of comfort food. Or maybe it is because I am on high doses of prednisone, again, for my RA/Lupus and EVERYTHING food related sounds delicious. I have also been eating candy corn by the bag full and I don’t really even like candy corn. So much for my 70 pounds of weight I have lost since January. I’m guessing those numbers are going to rise again. Auto immune diseases suck! But it is my reality and it is the path I walk.

This tortellini recipe is really easy. It does only make an 8×8 size dish but is very easy to double if you have a larger family.
The only part that scares me is the broiling part. I’m convinced that during the process of broiling that I am going to set my house, me, or the offspring on fire so I usually don’t end up broiling it long enough. It still turns out though so I’m not about to join a support group for my broiler fear.

Let’s begin!


Ingredients:

  • 1 20oz bag of frozen Cheese Tortellini
  • 1 15oz jar of Alfredo Sauce
  • 1 15oz jar of Marinara Sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese (not shown in picture)

That’s it! It is super easy to assemble.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit.

Cook your tortellini as directed on the package. If you are going to double the recipe you will need two full bags of tortellini. I buy the cheese filled tortellini, however, the meat filled would also be a great choice.

The tortellini cooks very fast which is why I love this recipe. It probably takes no more than 30 minutes from start to finish.

Once your tortellini is cooked, drain the water from it, and transfer it to a mixing bowl.

Now mix in the jar of alfredo sauce and HALF of the jar of marinara sauce. This is where doubling the recipe is easy. If you are using two bags of tortellini you will need to add an extra jar of the alfredo sauce and the entire jar of marinara sauce. You really aren’t buying that much extra ingredients in order to double the recipe.

Once the tortellini is mixed with the sauces, transfer it to a 8×8 baking dish. If you have double the recipe you will need a larger size baking dish such as a 9×13. I have no clue what the different sizes are so I am not sure if there is a size in between the 8×8 and 9×13. Is 9×13 the largest? So many mysteries unknown to me in the cooking world!

To recap; transfer your sauced tortellini.

Lastly, add your cheeses. I use an entire 8oz block of mozzarella cheese. The recipe calls for 1/2 a cup of each of the cheese but as I have said over and over again, I love cheese. I’m not sure how much of the shredded parmesan cheese I use. I just sprinkle it on until it looks like it is going to be a cheesy heaven. Side note: I use the grated fresh parmesan cheese. It is not the grated parmesan you find in the spaghetti isle of your grocery store. You will actually find it in the refrigerated section. It will probably be by the fancier cheeses such as the feta and crumbled blue cheese. If you have an Aldi’s store near you it is really cheap to buy there. It is under $2.00 in my area.

So go on and add cheese until you start to feel a cheesy euphoria set in!

(I forgot to take a photo of this step. I really blew it on taking photos for this blog. I greatly apologize since it results in me rambling more than normal.)

Bake your finished victory for 15 minutes. It just bakes long enough for everything to become hot and gooey.

Lastly, put your bake under the broiler until the cheese on top becomes bubbly and golden brown. Watch it closely! It will brown up really fast!

I usually add garlic bread of some sorts and a salad with this meal. I am also considering adding broccoli directly to the bake itself next time.

Add a comment if you add any additional ingredients or change it up in any way. I love reading your comments!


…and that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a Reply

