Oven Baked Fajitas

I have stated many times that I am not a trained cook. I have had no classes in cooking. I didn’t even know the difference between baking powder and baking soda until my 17 year old offspring explained it to me and of course didn’t use a “Mom you are such a moron!” tone in her voice at all.
This recipe is the perfect example to prove my claim of not being a trained or even educated cook. Well, this and the fact that my smoke alarm yells “Fire! Fire! Fire!” at me more than most people talk to their housemates in one day. My smoke alarm is a condescending jerkhole.

I love making these oven baked fajitas. I have made it for friends and family. They are simple to make and you can easily double the batch without having to access the math part of your brain. The problem is that I end up with a pan full of water and I don’t know how to prevent it. I was told it is from the peppers, but how do I stop it from happening? If you know please share! It’s really starting to aggravate me. I refuse to let a pan of chicken fajitas win!

The last time I made this I didn’t add the peppers while the chicken cooked. We ended up adding the peppers in raw to the cook chicken more as a topping at the end. It was still delicious but changed the texture and taste of the fajitas. Next time I am going to try adding the peppers to the last 10 minutes or so of the chicken’s baking time and see what happens. It’s not like you can really screw this up. I say this of course before I actually find a way to screw it up. Leave it to me. I will destroy this recipe eventually.

Let’s begin!


Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of boneless, skinless, Chicken Breast cut into strips
  • 2 Tablespoons of Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Teaspoons Chili Powder
  • 2 Teaspoon Cumin
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Dried Oregano
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 large Bell Pepper
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Toppings of your choice

I actually start this the night before I am planning on making it for dinner. First, I combine the Vegetable Oil, Chili Powder, Cumin, Garlic Powder, Dried Oregano, and Salt into a small bowl and stir it so it is mixed together really well. I don’t usually mess with the amount of seasoning the recipe calls for, unless I am doubling the recipe, because I am too worried I will burn someone’s lips off. But if you know what you are doing then feel free to add a little more or make a little less.

image.jpeg

Then I place the chicken, that has been washed and cut into strips, in a large ziplock bag. I then add the seasoned oil mixture to the chicken and kneed it until the chicken is coated thoroughly with the seasoning.

image

I leave the chicken in the fridge overnight to let it marinate with the spices. If you chose to do this step as you are cooking your family’s dinner that is fine. I have done it both ways. I still use the ziplock bag because it is much easier to get a good coat of seasoning on the chicken.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees  Fahrenheit.

Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray and add your seasoned chicken as the first layer.

image.jpeg

The picture above does not show the seasoning on it but should. Pretend it does. I almost forgot to add the spices because I was so preoccupied with trying to remember to take pictures. Then once I realized I had forgotten to season the chicken, I had to remove the peppers I had already layered on, and of course forgot to take the updated picture. Can’t win them all I guess!

Moving on. Next you want to layer the bell peppers on top of the chicken. I always buy whatever is on sale. I prefer to use red, yellow, and orange peppers but often add green peppers because they are always cheap. Also I use WAY more peppers than the recipe calls for. I use 2 to 3 full peppers.

image

The original recipe also added onion and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles to the bell pepper layer, however, I have always omitted these two ingredients. We aren’t fans of onions and I add fresh tomatoes as a topping at the end instead of the canned.

Bake your masterpiece for 25 minutes or until the chicken is cook through. This is where I get a ponds worth of water. I didn’t take a photo of it because it makes me want to gag. Is that normal? Can anyone save my poor fajitas from drowning?

image.jpeg

Serve on warm flour tortillas with the toppings of your choice. We add fresh avocados or guacamole, shredded cheese, fresh chopped tomatoes, and sour cream.

I also serve the fajitas with a salad and Korr’s Spanish or Taco rice.

image.jpeg

…and that is what we had for dinner!

Leave a Reply

